New York OSHA Training Information

New York OSHA Training Information

The state of New York Occupational health and safety plan augments or supercedes the Federal OSHA program.

The State of New York OSHA applies to government employees, while Federal OSHA applies to Private industry employees.

The OSHA Outreach 10-hour and 30-hour courses below are accepted by OSHA on both the federal level and the NY state level.

The New York State Plan for Public Employee Safety and Health (PESH), is responsible for promoting the health and safety for more than 2 million State and Local government employees in the State. The New York Department of Labor has been designated as the agency responsible for administering the plan throughout the State.

The Commissioner of Labor has full authority to enforce and administer all laws and rules protecting the safety and health of all employees of the State and its political subdivisions.

The PESH Program consists of one central office in Albany, New York and nine district offices located throughout the State: Albany, Binghamton, Syracuse, Utica, Rochester, Buffalo, White Plains, Garden City and New York City.


The New York State Plan applies to all public sector employers in the State, including: State, County, Town, and Village governments, as well as Public Authorities, School Districts, and Paid and Volunteer Fire Departments. Federal OSHA maintains jurisdiction over all private sector workplaces; federal agencies; maritime employers such as shipyards, marine terminals, and longshoring; military facilities; Indian sovereignty workplaces; and the U.S. Postal Service.

Regulations and Standards

States must set job safety and health standards that are “at least as effective” as Federal OSHA standards. States may promulgate standards that are more stringent than the comparable federal standards or promulgate standards covering hazards not addressed by federal standards.

The PESH Program has adopted all Federal OSHA standards and regulations applicable to public sector employment, with the exception of the Recordkeeping Rule, 29 CFR 1904. New York promulgated and adopted an alternative approach to recordkeeping requirements, under section 801 and administrative instructions 901.

In addition, the New York Plan provides the Commissioner with the authority for the development of alternative and/or State-initiated standards to protect the safety and health of public employees, in consultation with the Hazard Abatement Board, or on his/her own initiative. The procedures for adoption of alternative standards contain criteria for consideration of expert technical advice and allow interested persons to request development of any standard and to participate in any hearing for the development or modification of standards.

As of October 1, 2007, PESH has been engaged in the rulemaking process for two State-initiated standards, as required by legislation passed by the State’s Senate and Assembly and signed by the Governor.

New York OSHA Training

0 thoughts on “New York OSHA Training Information”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


OSHA State Requirements

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington,DC | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

© is a registered trademark of REX Training.